I or me?

People most often make mistakes using “I” and “me” when they are talking about more than one person. The difference is actually very simple – let me explain it to you.

Rule #1: “I” is the first person singular subject pronoun, which means that it refers to the person performing the action of a verb. Here are some examples:

I want to watch a movie.
You and I need to get up early.
Mike and I are going to a museum.

Rule #2: “Me” is an object pronoun, which means that it refers to the person that the action of a verb is being done to, or to which a preposition refers.

Mike told me to leave.
He gave me ten dollars.
She needs to talk to Joe or me.

This confusion usually occurs when you have I/me connected to another pronoun or name with “and” or “I”. I believe that the confusion begins when someone says something like “Mike and me are ready” and that is corrected to “Mike and I are ready”.

The reason we say “Mike and I” in that sentence is that “Mike and I” are the subject. If they were the object, we’d use “me”: “He told Mike and me to get ready”.

If you are not good with grammar concepts like subject and objects, there is still a very easy way to decide whether to use I or me: try out the sentence with just I or me (or if you need a plural, we or us – “we” is equivalent to “I” and “us” is equivalent to “me.”):

He told Mike and (I or me?) to get ready.
He told I to get ready? NO
He told me to get ready? YES
Therefore, He told Tom and me to get ready.

If Mike and (I or me?) get married, we’ll have three kids.
If me get married? NO
If I get married? YES
Therefore, If Mike and I get married, we’ll have three kids.

This is it:) hope it was clear:)

Leave a Reply

